THE 43RD MOSCOW INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL. IN SPITE OF THE LOCKDOWN

This year’s program inevitably reflects the uncertainties in the cinematic process itself. Now and again filmmakers in different countries went to extremes. The extreme situation of the Pandemic and the lockdown prompted extreme aesthetic and anti-aesthetic choices, unexpected semantic collisions, heightened by the creators’ polonged isolation. It would be naïve and arrogant to propose a way of looking at more than 200 films of different epochs and genres as a single whole. I’ll briefly single out some energy fields determining the selection of films for the 43rd MIFF.
The central films in the Competition, which has always been our priority, directly address critical situations in the cinematic life itself.
In Last «Dear Bulgaria Alexei Fedorenko with his typical irony and Mikhail Zoschenko’s self-deprecation (he is the author of the literary original and the character at the center of the search) brings us back to the key period in the history of Soviet multinational cinema when central studios were evacuated to Asia. Eisenstein, who is only alluded to in this film, unexpectedly comes back to the audience in the German Bloodsuckers – A Marxist Vampire Comedy with its derisive movie thrash style.
The Russian theme of the search for a missing cosmonaut in Northern China unexpectedly surfaces in Café By The Highway in the hopeless but exquisite visuals of the snow-covered expanses. 
The paradoxical structure of the Cuban futurist parable Blue Heart reflects the sound and fury of the modern world and its chaotic representation in newsfeeds and on TV. Next to it is the tragic fresco of a real disaster at the sea in El ventre del mar a movie by the modern Catalonian classic Agustí Villaronga, where characters involuntarily turn into cannibals which prompts cheerless philosophical reflections. By contrast the Romanian “#Dogpoopgirl” mercilessly exposes the omnipotence of modern social networks capable of destroying anybody for no reason.
In the more traditional vein authors focus on gender, passion and family collisions. The Iranian The Son, the Japanese Women, another Italian adaptation of Alberto Moravia’s Time Of Indifference give different perspectives on the relations between sexes and generations in the context of their national cultures. The Norwegian movie Him stands out. A rare combination of keen social observations, commonplace situations and psychological precision turn it into a diagnosis of the terminally ill contemporary society.
We shall wrap up this summary, which as yet will have to be corrected and enlarged, with a movie by the Indian director Don Palathara Joyful Mystery which links the relevance of the lockdown (the action takes place entirely within a car and fits into one single shot) with a kind of modern fantasy on the biblical Annunciation.
This modest low-budget movie from Kerala where socialist illusions are still honored, demonstrates that this program of the MIFF, which might at first look like a picture of total chaos, brings together epochs, cultures and generations and can pull out from the human subconscious the image of unified Cosmos.
Movies in the main competition are supposed to complement two other traditional competition programs – of documentaries and of shorts. The first one is of special importance as it has been designated among few others a preliminary selections center for non-fiction “Oscars”. This decision was taken with the support of Michael Apted, President of the Guild of Directors, who died earlier this year. To commemorate his memory we are offering a short retrospective of his features including Coal Miner's Daughter which had seven Oscar nominations. Some time ago when I was in Hollywood selecting films I could not persuade the producers to let us screen this film in the MIFF Competition.
Just like earlier, this year’s program of documentary masterpieces Free Thought will be in the center of the viewers’ attention as well as a small selection of pilots and first episodes from the newest series.
The competition of shorts and the accompanying out-of-competition program are especially important in the current situation. After we had to give up the Perspectives program, the shorts became a major, although unconventional, mirror reflecting the emergence of new talent. I believe we are witnessing the birth of a new era in screen culture which will be dominated by minimalist forms from TikTok to Youtube. The shorts represented by a special selection of animated films, are becoming the focal point of the aesthetic trends in screen art and its social significance. The special program Inverted Perspective will be a major event, it will be devoted to the alumni of the master of national directing Alexandr Sokurov.
It does not mean that we are forgetting the past. This year’s program is rich in retrospectives: one of them is devoted to the explosive couple “Yves Montan – Simone Signoret”, another is Italian cinema. The Return of the Classics. And finally the anniversary Razlogov’s Choice. They all combine to restore and enrich the connections between epochs. Largely the same topics are addressed by personal programs prepared by my colleagues from the Selections Committee Andrei Plakhov, Peter Shepotinnik and Stas Tyrkin, who have chosen contemporary material.
In keeping with the trends of our time a significant place is taken by women directors. In addition to Anjelica Artykh’s traditional program we will be showing two retrospectives from China and Israel which will enrich our viewers’ knowledge about feminist processes in screen art in different parts of the world. This wide international panorama will also be presented in the cycle Around the World.
Kirill Razlogov
Program Director of the Moscow International Film Festival

43-й МОСКОВСКИЙ МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫЙ КИНОФЕСТИВАЛЬ. НАПЕРЕКОР ЛОКДАУНАМ

Программа фестиваля этого года не могла не отразить разброд и шатания самого кинопроцесса. Кинематографистов разных стран поочередно бросало из крайности в крайность. Экстремальные обстоятельства пандемии и локдауна стимулировали экстремистские эстетические или антиэстетические решения, неожиданные смысловые коллизии, разогретые долгим пребыванием творцов в изоляции. Было бы наивно и самонадеянно пытаться свести в единое полотно более двухсот лент самых разных времен и жанров. Отмечу лишь некоторые силовые поля подбора фильмов на 43-й Московский МКФ.
Центральные фильмы конкурсной программы, которая во всех смыслах всегда являлась и является для нас приоритетной, впрямую обращены к кризисным ситуациям самой кинематографической жизни. 
Последняя «Милая Болгария» Алексея Федорченко в свойственной для режиссера ироничной манере, помноженной на грустную самоиронию Михаила Зощенко (одновременно автора литературного первоисточника и разыскиваемого персонажа), возвращает нас в ключевой для развития советского многонационального кино период эвакуации центральных киностудий в Среднюю Азию. Появляющийся здесь в аллюзиях Эйзенштейн неожиданно возвращается к фестивальному зрителю в немецкой картине Кровопийцы в издевательской стилистике кинотрэша.
Русская тема поиска утерянного на просторах Северного Китая космонавта неожиданно звучит в фильме Кофейня в поле в безрадостной, но изысканной визуальности заснеженных ландшафтов. 
Кубинская футурологическая притча Голубое сердце в своей парадоксальной структуре отражает шум и ярость современного мира и его хаотического отражения в лентах новостей и на телевизионном экране. А рядом – трагическая фреска реальной морской катастрофы 18 века в фильме современного классика из Каталонии Агусти Вильяронга Чрево моря, где вынужденное превращение героев в людоедов приводит к безрадостным философским размышлениям. По контрасту румынский гротеск #Dogpoopgirl (или #засранка) обличает всевластие современных социальных сетей, позволяющих ни за что уничтожить любого человека.
В более традиционном регистре в центре внимания авторов оказываются гендерные, любовные и семейные коллизии. Иранский Сын, японские Женщины, очередная итальянская экранизация романа Альберто Моравиа Равнодушные по-разному интерпретируют вечные проблемы отношений между полами и поколениями в контексте своей национальной культуры. На этом фоне выделяется норвежская лента Он. Редкий синтез социальной остроты, обыденности ситуаций и психологической точности делает ее своеобразным диагнозом смертельной болезни современного социума.
Закончим этот суммарный, еще потребующий некоторых добавлений и изменений в самом ближайшем будущем, обзор индийской картиной режиссера Дона Палатхары Счастливое предзнаменование, которая сочетает актуальность локдауна (все действие происходит в салоне автомобиля и снято одним кадром) со своеобразным современным перевертышем евангельского Благовеста. 
Именно эта скромная малобюджетная картина из штата Керала, где до сих пор чтут социалистические иллюзии, показывает, что нынешняя программа ММКФ, которая с первого взгляда может показаться картиной всеобъемлющего Хаоса, на самом деле связывает между собой времена, культуры и поколения и способна возродить в глубинах подсознания зрителей образ единого Космоса. 
Картину основного соревновательного блока призваны дополнить два других традиционных конкурса – документальных и короткометражных фильмов. Первый имеет особое значение потому, что он признан одним из немногочисленных центров предварительного отбора неигрового кино на премию Американской киноакадемии «Оскар». Это решение было в свое время принято благодаря поддержке Президента Гильдии кинорежиссеров США Майкла Эптеда, ушедшего из жизни в начале нынешнего года. В его память мы показываем  небольшую ретроспективу его игровых работ, включая Дочь шахтера, получившую семь оскаровских номинаций. В свое время, будучи в Голливуде для отбора фильмов, мне не удалось договориться о том, чтобы эту картину дали на конкурс ММКФ. 
Нынешняя программа шедевров документалистики Свободная мысль, как и в минувшие годы, безусловно будет одним из центров зрительского внимания, как и небольшая подборка пилотных выпусков и первых эпизодов новейших сериалов.
Конкурс короткометражных фильмов, как и сопутствующая внеконкурсная программа, в современных условиях играет особую роль. После того, как мы вынуждены были отказаться от программы Перспективы, именно короткий метр стал основным, хоть и причудливым зеркалом формирования новых талантов. На мой взгляд, на наших глазах начинается новая эра экранной культуры, когда будут господствовать именно минималистские формы – от Тиктока до Ю-Тюба. Короткий метр, представленный специальной подборкой анимации, постепенно становится центром эстетического развития искусства экрана и его общественного резонанса. Такой резонанс, безусловно вызовет и специальная программа Обратная перспектива, посвященная ученикам новой мастерской мэтра отечественной режиссуры Александра Сокурова.
Это не значит, что мы забываем о днях вчерашних. Нынешняя программа особо богата ретроспективными показами: ретроспектива к столетию взрывной пары Ива Монтана и Симоны Синьоре, цикл Итальянское кино. Возвращение классики и, наконец, юбилейный Выбор Разлогова восстанавливают и обогащают связь времен. По-своему аналогичные задачи, но уже на сугубо современном материале, решают и «авторские» программы моих коллег по отборочной комиссии Андрея Плахова, Петра Шепотинника и Стаса Тыркина.
По стечению обстоятельств, отражающих дух времени, одно из центральных мест на фестивале занимают картины женщин-режиссеров. Помимо традиционного цикла Анжелики Артюх, мы покажем две ретроспективы из Китая и Израиля, которые безусловно обогатят представления наших зрителей о феминизации современного кинопроцесса в широких географических рамках, которые по-новому развернутся и в цикле Вокруг света.
Кирилл Разлогов
программный директор Московского кинофестиваля